We are open from 10:00 AM.

Tickets Information Directions

Events

Themed tour

Technological Frenzy

|
Introductory tour

Highlights Museum Brandhorst

|

Exhibitions

Spot On

Brandhorst Flag Commission: Nora Turato

Permanent exhibition

Cy Twombly at Museum Brandhorst

0
Info
Film Program

Coming Together in Parts

Located in the media room on the lower level of Museum Brandhorst, the film program “Coming Together in Parts” responds to and extends the themes of the exhibition “Future Bodies from a Recent Past—Sculpture, Technology, and the Body since the 1950s”—in terms of media, time, and content. "Coming Together in Parts" presents video works by artists who deal with the interaction of bodies and technologies as well as alternative narratives of the future. The film program takes place in two chapters.

Chapter I: Carriers | June 2 – September 4, 2022

Jill Magid, Sondra Perry, Jeamin Cha

 

Chapter II: Hijack the Future | September 6, 2022 – January 8, 2023

Sophia Al-Maria, Masha Godovannaya, Yong Xiang Li

 

Curated by Franziska Linhardt

Chapter II: Hijack the Future

The second chapter takes us through various seemingly post-apocalyptic times in which non-human actors—a desert, a dog, and a vampire—each play a leading role. The cinematic narratives of Sophia Al-Maria, Masha Godovannaya and Yong Xiang Li thwart not only our notions of time, but also traditional stories and myths. They open up alternative and more-than-human perspectives on our togetherness and antagonism on this planet—between companionship, dependency and exploitation.

Sophia Al-Maria, The Future was Desert Part 1, 2016

In Sophia Al-Maria’s “The Future was Desert Part 1” (2016), the desert is both time machine and setting for a posthuman dystopia. Rapidly edited shots of delirious dreamscapes are accompanied by a robotic voice narrating a history of humans’ destruction of the Earth. The video traverses geological times, allowing both the planetary and human past and future to collapse. By these means, Al-Maria also addresses the tensions of the complex geopolitical situation in the Persian Gulf, where natural resources such as oil are considered to be crucial for the future.

Masha Godovannaya, Laika. The Last Flight, 2017

Masha Godovannaya’s “Laika. The Last Flight” (2017) is about a street dog called Laika, the first living being to be sent successfully into the Earth’s orbit. She was one of the many Soviet space dogs who paid with their lives in the service of space exploration. Montages and manipulations of found footage films from the 1950s, as well as a voice-over, a fictional letter from Laika herself, shift the heroic narrative of the first cosmonaut. They introduce the dog as both subject and actor, negotiating her perspective in an age of space travel defined by ambivalent ideologies and humans’ pursuit of power.

Show more

Yong Xiang Li, I’m Not in Love (How to Feed on Humans), 2020

Yong Xiang Li’s “I’m Not in Love (How to Feed on Humans)” (2020) is a combination of narrative film, romantic comedy, and music video. Through collaborative approaches and the freedom of DIY and low-budget production, it dusts off the negative lore of vampirism: Vampy—a 386-year-old vampire—strolls through the city in broad daylight. Instead of bloodthirsty transformation, his bite promises pleasure and long life. In Vampy’s symbiotic and polyamorous companionship with his three human lovers, the work questions the mechanisms of becoming monster and notions of love in a present characterized by hegemonies and dependencies.

Show more

Chapter I: Carriers

The first chapter addresses bodies as carriers of meaning and how artists engage with the representations of bodies in digital and technological environments. The video works on display, by Jill Magid, Sondra Perry, and Jeamin Cha, examine different forms of alienation between subjects and their images, as well as their relationships to organizations and institutional structures.

Jeamin Cha, Nameless Syndrome, 2022

Filmstill, das zwei Frauen in einem Schwimmbecken zeigt.

In five chapters, Jeamin Cha’s essay film “Nameless Syndrome” (2022) follows the undiagnosable illnesses of women. In doing so, she addresses the constant reduction of the self through its digital images and data, but also through institutions and social systems. Investigative tools such as medical imaging fail to capture the nature of contemporary bodily ailments due to their symptomatic and political complexity. By overlaying image, sound, and quoted excerpts of text, Cha questions the empirical truths claimed by science and medicine.

Jill Magid, Lobby 7, 1999

Filmstill, das eine Einganghalle mit Menschen in Rückenansicht zeigt, die auf einen Bildschirm sehen.

Jill Magid’s “Lobby 7” (1999) documents a performance that took place in the lobby of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). The artist hijacked the information screen and interrupted its program with her own transmission: using a miniature camera underneath her clothes, she explored her body in real time and filmed the reactions of passersby. Magid confronts surveillance mechanisms and control with voyeurism, personal intimacy, and desire.

Sondra Perry, It’s in the Game ’17, 2017

Filmstill, dass ein verschwommenes Foto von zwei Menschen zeigt, auf dem einen blaue Figur schwebt

Sondra Perry’s “IT’S IN THE GAME ’17” (2017) revolves around a digital, but real theft. The image of the artist’s twin brother—a professional basketball player—was used for an avatar in a video game without his consent and without compensation. Perry compares this to the way major museums have built their collections on looted art from colonial contexts. Between the private and the public, the real and the virtual, the original and the copy, the work raises questions about authorship, identity, and cultural justice.

Part of "Future Bodies from a Recent Past"

The film program is part of the exhibition "Future Bodies from a Recent Past - Sculpture, Technology, and the Body since the 1950s." It brings to life a hitherto little-noticed phenomenon in art and sculpture in particular: the reciprocal interpenetration of body and technology.

Future Bodies from a Recent Past—Sculpture, Technology, and the Body since the 1950s

Also visit

Our Program

Exhibitions

Our Program

Calendar

Wir haben morgen ab 10:00 Uhr wieder geöffnet.

Tickets Information Anfahrt

Ausstellungen

Spot On

Brandhorst Flag Commission: Nora Turato

Dauerausstellung

Cy Twombly im Museum Brandhorst

0
Info
Filmprogramm

Coming Together in Parts

Das Filmprogramm im Medienraum des Museums Brandhorst reagiert auf und erweitert die Themen der Ausstellung „Future Bodies from a Recent Past – Skulptur, Technologie, Körper seit den 1950er-Jahren" – medial, zeitlich und inhaltlich. Unter dem Titel „Coming Together in Parts“ werden Videoarbeiten von Künstler:innen gezeigt, die sich mit der Wechselwirkung von Körpern und Technologien sowie alternativen Zukunftserzählungen auseinandersetzen. Das Filmprogramm findet in zwei Kapiteln statt.

Kapitel I: Carriers | 2. Juni – 4. September 2022

Jill Magid, Sondra Perry, Jeamin Cha

 

Kapitel II: Hijack the Future | 6. September 2022 – 8. Januar 2023

Sophia Al-Maria, Masha Godovannaya, Yong Xiang Li

 

Kuratiert von Franziska Linhardt

Kapitel II: Hijack the Future

Das zweite Kapitel führt durch verschiedene scheinbar postapokalyptische Zeiten, in denen nicht menschliche Akteur:innen – eine Wüste, eine Hündin und ein Vampir – die jeweiligen Hauptrollen spielen. Die filmischen Erzählungen von Sophia Al-Maria, Masha Godovannaya und Yong Xiang Li durchkreuzen nicht nur Vorstellungen von Zeit, sondern auch überlieferte Geschichten und Mythen. Sie eröffnen alternative und mehr-als-menschliche Perspektiven auf unser Mit- und Gegeneinander auf diesem Planeten – zwischen Gemeinschaft, Abhängigkeit und Ausbeutung.

Sophia Al-Maria, The Future was Desert Part 1, 2016

In Sophia Al-Marias „The Future was Desert Part 1“ (2016) ist die Wüste gleichzeitig Zeitmaschine und Schauplatz posthumaner Dystopie. Schnell geschnittene Aufnahmen von delirierenden Traumlandschaften werden von einer roboterhaften Stimme begleitet, die eine Zerstörungsgeschichte der Erde durch die Menschen erzählt. Das Video durchquert geologische Zeiträume, lässt planetarische sowie menschliche Vergangenheit und Zukunft kollabieren. Damit thematisiert Al-Maria auch die Spannungen einer komplexen Geopolitik in der persischen Golfregion, wo natürliche Ressourcen wie Erdöl als Schlüssel der Zukunft gelten.

Mehr anzeigen

Masha Godovannaya, Laika. The Last Flight, 2017

Masha Godovannayas „Laika. The Last Flight“ (2017) handelt von der Straßenhündin Laika, dem ersten Lebewesen, das erfolgreich in die Erdumlaufbahn geschickt wurde. Sie ist einer der vielen sowjetischen Weltraumhunde, die für die Erkundung des Weltalls mit ihrem Leben bezahlten. Montagen und Manipulationen gefundener Filmaufnahmen der 1950er-Jahre sowie ein Voiceover, ein fiktiver Brief von Laika selbst, verschieben die heroische Erzählung der ersten Kosmonautin. Sie stellen die Hündin als Subjekt und Akteurin vor und verhandeln ihre Perspektive in dem von ambivalenten Ideologien und menschlichem Machtstreben bestimmten Zeitalter der Raumfahrt.

Mehr anzeigen

Yong Xiang Li, I’m Not in Love (How to Feed on Humans), 2020

Yong Xiang Lis „I’m Not in Love (How to Feed on Humans)“ (2020) ist eine Kombination zwischen Spielfilm, Liebeskomödie und Musikvideo. Durch kollaborative Herangehensweisen und die Freiheiten von DIY- und Low-Budget-Produktion entstaubt es die negativen Überlieferungen des Vampirismus: Vampy – ein 386 Jahre alter Vampir – flaniert bei helllichtem Tag durch die Stadt. Statt blutrünstiger Transformation verspricht sein Biss Freude und langes Leben. In Vampys symbiotischer und polyamouröser Gemeinschaft mit seinen drei menschlichen Geliebten hinterfragt die Arbeit die Mechanismen des Monster-Werdens und Vorstellungen von Liebe in einer von Hegemonien und Abhängigkeiten geprägten Gegenwart.

Mehr anzeigen

Kapitel I: Carriers

Das erste Kapitel widmet sich Körpern als Bedeutungsträgern und der Frage, wie sich Künstler:innen mit den Repräsentationen von Körpern in digitalen und technologischen Umgebungen auseinandersetzen. Die gezeigten Videoarbeiten von Jill Magid, Sondra Perry und Jeamin Cha nähern sich unterschiedlichen Formen der Entfremdung zwischen Subjekten und ihren Bildern sowie deren Verhältnissen zu Organisationen und institutionellen Strukturen.

Jeamin Cha, Nameless Syndrome, 2022

Filmstill, das zwei Frauen in einem Schwimmbecken zeigt.

Jeamin Chas Essayfilm „Nameless Syndrome“ (2022) verfolgt in fünf Kapiteln nicht diagnostizierbare Krankheiten von Frauen. Dabei thematisiert er die ständige Reduzierung des Selbst durch seine digitalen Bilder und Daten, aber auch durch Institutionen und soziale Systeme. Denn Untersuchungsmöglichkeiten wie die medizinische Bildgebung können das Wesen aktueller körperlicher Leiden aufgrund ihrer symptomatischen und politischen Komplexität nicht erfassen. In der Überlagerung von Bild, Ton und zitierten Textausschnitten hinterfragt Cha den empirischen Wahrheitsanspruch von Wissenschaft und Medizin.

Mehr anzeigen

Jill Magid, Lobby 7, 1999

Filmstill, das eine Einganghalle mit Menschen in Rückenansicht zeigt, die auf einen Bildschirm sehen.

Jill Magids „Lobby 7“ (1999) dokumentiert eine Perfomance, die in der Lobby des Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) stattfand. Die Künstlerin kaperte den Informationsbildschirm und unterbrach dessen Programm mit einer eigenen Übertragung: Durch eine Miniaturkamera, die sie unter ihren Kleidern entlangführte, erkundete sie in Echtzeit ihren Körper und filmte die Reaktion der Passant:innen. Magid konfrontiert Überwachungsmechanismen und Kontrolle mit Voyeurismus, persönlicher Intimität und Begehren.

Sondra Perry, It’s in the Game ’17, 2017

Filmstill, dass ein verschwommenes Foto von zwei Menschen zeigt, auf dem einen blaue Figur schwebt

Sondra Perrys Videoarbeit „IT’S IN THE GAME ’17“ (2017) dreht sich um einen digitalen, aber realen Diebstahl. Denn das Bild des Zwillingbruders der Künstlerin – er ist professioneller Basketballspieler – wurde ohne dessen Zustimmung und ohne Kompensation für einen Avatar in einem Videospiel verwendet. Perry vergleicht dies mit der Art und Weise, wie große Museen ihre Sammlungen auf Raubkunst aus kolonialen Kontexten aufgebaut haben. Zwischen Privatem und Öffentlichem, Realem und Virtuellem, Original und Kopie wirft die Arbeit Fragen nach Autor:innenschaft, Identität und kultureller Gerechtigkeit auf.

Mehr anzeigen

Im Rahmen von „Future Bodies from a Recent Past“

Das Filmprogramm ist Teil des Rahmenprogramms der Ausstellung „Future Bodies from a Recent Past – Skulptur, Technologie, Körper seit den 1950er-Jahren.“ Sie macht ein bisher wenig beachtetes Phänomen in der Kunst und insbesondere der Skulptur erlebbar: die wechselseitige Durchdringung von Körper und Technologie.

Zur Ausstellung

Weiterführende Themen

Unser Programm

Ausstellungen

Unser Programm

Kalender

Entdecken

Mediathek