General Information

Opening hours

We are currently closed.


Daily except Monday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Admission
Regular: 7.00 €
Reduced: 5.00 €
Sundays: 1.00 €
Contact +49 89 238 052 286
info@pinakothek.de Address Theresienstraße 35A
80333 München

Current exhibitions

Forever Young Jubiläumsausstellung 10 Jahre Museum Brandhorst München Exhibition

Forever Young – 10 Years Museum Brandhorst

Exhibition series "Spot On"

Spot On: Michael Krebber

Exhibition series "Spot On"

Spot On: R.H. Quaytman

Current events

Guided tour |

"Meet Us"- Our Pi.lots

Guided tour |

"Meet Us"- Our Pi.lots

Führung durch die Ausstellung „Forever Young“ Themed tour |

The dark side of Pop Art

Hinsehen.Zeichnen vor OriginalenForever Young Museum Brandhorst Workshop |

Looking and Seeing. Drawing in Front of Originals

Download
0
Info
The museum

Museum Brandhorst

The Museum Brandhorst is dedicated to contemporary art. Since its opening in 2009, the museum has established itself as one of the central venues for contemporary art in Germany. Behind the spectacular facade of 36,000 ceramic rods, visitors from all over the world can explore masterpieces of art from the 1960s to the present.

In the middle of Munich’s vibrant Maxvorstadt neighborhood, the Museum Brandhorst provides a unique environment to take a closer look at the formative positions of art since 1960. Internationally renowned artists and younger voices are united under one roof. The collection and the program of the museum stand for an in-depth research on individual artists and an intensive examination of relevant topics in the visual arts.

 

The Museum Brandhorst has its roots in the private collection of Anette and Udo Brandhorst. Transferred to a foundation in 1993, the collection was made accessible to the public with the opening of Museum Brandhorst in 2009 and has since been part of the Bavarian State Painting Collections. The fruitful cooperation between the Free State of Bavaria and the Udo und Anette Brandhorst Stiftung continues. While the state guarantees the operation of the museum, the foundation enables the continuous expansion of the collection. Since the opening of the museum, the collection has almost doubled in size, from 700 to more than 1,200 works.

The Museum Brandhorst inspires its audience from near and far not only by the largest holdings of works of Andy Warhol’s in Europe. The focus of the museum on works by Cy Twombly and the impressive display of his works are also unique in the world: the monumental “Lepanto Cycle” is permanently presented in a room that has been especially designed following the ideas of the artist. Pop Art and expressive painting are just a few of the numerous movements that can be found here, along with Arte Povera and Minimal Art.

 

The museum impresses with outstanding holdings of artists of the neo-avant-garde of the 1960s and 70s such as Sigmar Polke, Gerhard Richter or Bruce Nauman and the postmodernism of such figures as Jeff Koons, Mike Kelley or Cady Noland. Bodies of work by international contemporary artists such as Kerstin Brätsch, Jacqueline Humphries, Mark Leckey or Wade Guyton open up new perspectives onto the present.

 

The Museum Brandhorst stands for an ambitious exhibition program that has been attracting international attention for years. Always in focus: the intense engagement with individual artists and their work. The changing collection displays and temporary exhibitions, as well as the comprehensive catalogues, set standards through their exceptional care and scholarship.

 

The Museum Brandhorst sees itself as a place of creativity and free thinking. It is in this understanding that the house has made it a central task to enable as many children and adolescents as possible to engage with contemporary art in front of originals. A diverse and constantly expanding range of educational services for children and families, school classes and nurseries encourage an inspiring encounter with contemporary topics from the perspective of the visual arts.

Allgemeine Information

Öffnungszeiten

Wir haben heute leider geschlossen.


Täglich außer Montag: 10:00 - 18:00 Uhr
Donnerstag: 10:00 - 20:00 Uhr
Eintrittspreise
Regulär: 7.00 €
Ermäßigt: 5.00 €
Sonntags: 1.00 €
Kontakt +49 (0)89 23805 2286
info@museum-brandhorst.de Adresse Theresienstraße 35A
80333 München

Aktuelle Ausstellungen

Werkabbildung zu Ausstellung

Lucy McKenzie – Prime Suspect

Ausstellungsansicht Dauerausstellung

Sammlung Brandhorst – Lawler, Twombly, Warhol

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Pop up Factory - Pop up your life Online Workshop Digital

Online-Workshop | Pop-Up Factory: "Pop up your life"

Pop up Factory - Pop up your life Online Workshop Digital

Online-Workshop | Pop-Up Factory: "Pop up your life"

Pop up Factory - Pop up your life Online Workshop Digital

Online-Workshop | Pop-Up Factory: "Pop up your life"

Download
0
Info
Das Museum

Museum Brandhorst

Außenansicht Fassade Museum Brandhorst Architektur: Sauerbruch und Hutton

Das Museum Brandhorst widmet sich der zeitgenössischen Kunst. Seit seiner Eröffnung 2009 hat sich das Haus als einer der zentralen Orte für Gegenwartskunst in Deutschland etabliert. Hinter der spektakulären Fassade aus 36.000 Keramikstäben erleben Besucherinnen und Besucher aus aller Welt Spitzenwerke der Kunst von den 1960er-Jahren bis heute.

Mitten in Münchens pulsierender Maxvorstadt lädt das Museum Brandhorst in einem einzigartigen Ambiente zur Beschäftigung mit der Kunst seit 1960 ein. Internationale Kunststars und junge zukunftsweisende Positionen sind unter einem Dach vereint. Die Sammlung und das Programm des Museums stehen für eine vertiefte Beschäftigung mit einzelnen Künstlerpersönlichkeiten und für die intensive Auseinandersetzung mit zentralen Fragestellungen der Kunst von heute.

 

Seine Wurzeln hat das Museum in der privaten Sammlung von Anette und Udo Brandhorst. 1993 in eine Stiftung überführt, wurde die Sammlung 2009 im Museum Brandhorst der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht und ist seitdem Teil der Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen. Die fruchtbare Kooperation zwischen dem Freistaat Bayern und der Udo und Anette Brandhorst Stiftung setzt sich fort: Während der Staat den Betrieb des Hauses garantiert, ermöglicht die Stiftung die kontinuierliche Erweiterung der Sammlung. So hat sich der Werkbestand seit der Eröffnung des Museums Brandhorst nahezu verdoppelt und ist von 700 auf über 1.200 Arbeiten angewachsen.

Besucherin im Museum Brandhorst vor Werken von Cy Twombly Rosensaal
Besucherin im Museum Brandhorst vor Werken von Jean-Michele Basquiat, David LaChapelle, Damien Hirst
Besucherin im Museum Brandhorstmit Werken von Andy Warhol, Jean-Michele Basquiat, Monika Baer
Besucherin im Museum Brandhorst im Lepanto Saal von Cy Twombly

Das Museum Brandhorst begeistert sein Publikum aus nah und fern nicht nur durch die mit Abstand größte Sammlung von Werken Andy Warhols in Europa. Weltweit einzigartig ist auch der Schwerpunkt des Hauses auf dem Schaffen von Cy Twombly sowie dessen beeindruckende Inszenierung: Der monumentale „Lepanto“-Zyklus (2001) wird dauerhaft in einem Saal präsentiert, der eigens nach den Wünschen des Künstlers gestaltet wurde. Pop-Art und expressive Malerei bilden neben Arte Povera und Minimal Art nur einige der zahlreichen, im Museum vertretenen Strömungen.

 

Das Museum überzeugt mit herausragenden Beständen zu Künstlern der Neo-Avantgarde der 1960er und 70er-Jahre wie Sigmar Polke, Gerhard Richter oder Bruce Nauman und der Postmoderne wie Jeff Koons, Mike Kelley oder Cady Noland. Werkgruppen internationaler Positionen wie Kerstin Brätsch, Jacqueline Humphries, Mark Leckey oder Wade Guyton eröffnen neue Perspektiven auf die Gegenwartskunst.

 

Das Museum Brandhorst steht für ein ambitioniertes Ausstellungsprogramm, das seit Jahren für internationale Aufmerksamkeit sorgt. Stets im Fokus: die intensive Auseinandersetzung mit Künstlerpersönlichkeiten und ihrem Werk. Die wechselnden Sammlungspräsentationen und Sonderausstellungen sowie die umfassenden Kataloge setzen Maßstäbe – auch durch ihre wissenschaftliche Akribie und außergewöhnliche Sorgfalt.

 

Das Museum Brandhorst begreift sich als Ort der Kreativität und des freien Denkens. Ganz in diesem Verständnis hat es sich das Haus zu einer zentralen Aufgabe gemacht, möglichst vielen Kindern und Jugendlichen die Beschäftigung mit zeitgenössischer Kunst vor Originalen zu ermöglichen. Ein vielfältiges und sich ständig erweiterndes Vermittlungsangebot für Kinder und Familien, Schulklassen und Kindertagesstätten regt zur inspirierenden Auseinandersetzung mit Gegenwartsfragen aus der Perspektive der bildenden Kunst an.

Weiterführende Themen