General Information

Opening hours

Unfortunately we are closed today.


Daily except Monday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Admission
Regular: 7.00 €
Reduced: 5.00 €
Sundays: 1.00 €
Contact +49 (0)89 23805 2286
info@museum-brandhorst.de Address Theresienstraße 35A
80333 München

Current exhibitions

Werkabbildung zu Exhibition

Lucy McKenzie – Prime Suspect

Current events

Download
0
Info
Kino der Kunst

Bloodless Brandhorst

Anna McCarthy & Paulina Nolte, Bloodless Brandhorst, 2020

In the third part of their film series Bloodless, Anna McCarthy and Paulina Nolte transform Museum Brandhorst into a setting for mysterious events. The film will be shown for the first time on October 28 at Kino der Kunst, and will be available afterwards online on this site. In addition, Museum Brandhorst, as a cooperation partner of the film festival, will host a series of artists’ talks that will take place in the Pinakothek der Moderne and will be available as a live stream on YouTube.

About the film

Set in candy tones the dark and deadpan stories of Anna McCarthy’s and fellow artist Paulina Nolte’s vegetarian TV series BLOODLESS are reacting to current travesties in a lost-in-reverie kind of way. With two wealthy overstrung ladies fretting over the soul of a luxury handbag the 1st episode BLOODLESS BOUTIQUE from 2019 set the tone for the sequel. Followed by BLOODLESS POOL in summer 2020 the third episode BLOODLESS BRANDHORST has been commissioned by Museum Brandhorst and will be premiered on the occasion of Kino der Kunst: ”Welcome to reality, Madame.”

Bloodless Boutique

Two slightly snobby ladies and a handbag in a bizarre-surreal store scene. The first part of Anna McCarthy’s and Paulina Nolte’s BLOODLESS series was made in 2019 and revolves around the sensitive soul of a luxury leather handbag.

Bloodless Pool

The second episode of Anna McCarthy’s and Paulina Nolte’s vegetarian television series was made in the summer of 2020. BLOODLESS POOL dives into aquamarine blue abysses.

Anna McCarthy & Paulina Nolte

Anna McCarthy (*1981 in Munich) is known for her interdisciplinary, collaborative, and also often humorous, poetical and political approach. The artist studied at the Kingston University of Art & Design London, the Akademie der bildenden Künste München and at the Glasgow School of Art. Her works have been exhibited internationally, including at the Haus der Kunst, D-0 ARK Underground, Kunstverein Göttingen, Kunstbau im Lenbachhaus and the Schaustelle Pinakothek der Moderne. In 2019/2020 she taught as a substitute professor at the Akademie der bildenden Künste München and in 2020 received the USA Scholarship of the Bavarian Ministry for Science and Art. McCarthy also plays in the bands WHAT ARE PEOPLE FOR?, SALEWSKI and MOON NOT WAR.

 

Paulina Nolte (*1992 in Munich) studied at the Akademie der Bildenden Künste München with Professor Klaus vom Bruch, Professor Julian Rosefeldt, Kerstin Brätsch and Anne Imhof. She graduated in 2018 as a master student of Klaus vom Bruch. He work consists of drawings, ceramic objects, texts and music, and often leads to performative pieces. Her last performance, and the release of her publication “Desert of Unrest” took place in the garden of the Lenbachhaus with Ruine München in July 2020. This year, for “Arts of the Working Class” she created illustrations for the 2023 Venice Biennale 2023.

 

Anna McCarthy and Paulina Nolte play together in the band WHAT ARE PEOPLE FOR?.

Show more

At Museum Brandhorst: Video works by Lucy McKenzie

Lucy McKenzie The Girl Who Followed Marple, 2014

About Kino der Kunst

Halil Altindere, Kino der Kunst 2020

As a unique combination of film festival and art exhibition, KINO DER KUNST explores the relationship between the visual arts and cinema; the programmatic focus is on how film artists deal with fiction and narrative.

This year’s international competition is dedicated to the theme of “Forbidden Beauty” and the question of why the concept of beauty is so frowned upon in contemporary art. On show will be cinematic works that use formal innovations and a highly aesthetic visual vocabulary, without losing sight of the serious issues of our time. The films will be shown in the cinemas of the HFF, City Kinos and Theatiner Filmkunst.

Museum Brandhorst will host the artists’ talks in 2020 for the third time, which will be held as part of KINO DER KUNST. The talks will be held in the Ernst von Siemens Auditorium at the Pinakothek der Moderne and will be available as a live stream on the Museum Brandhorst YouTube channel.

Tickets and program

In cooperation with

Allgemeine Information

Öffnungszeiten

Wir haben heute leider geschlossen.


Täglich außer Montag: 10:00 - 18:00 Uhr
Donnerstag: 10:00 - 20:00 Uhr
Eintrittspreise
Regulär: 7.00 €
Ermäßigt: 5.00 €
Sonntags: 1.00 €
Kontakt +49 (0)89 23805 2286
info@museum-brandhorst.de Adresse Theresienstraße 35A
80333 München

Aktuelle Ausstellungen

Werkabbildung zu Ausstellung

Lucy McKenzie – Prime Suspect

Ausstellungsansicht Dauerausstellung

Sammlung Brandhorst – Lawler, Twombly, Warhol

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Pop up Factory - Pop up your life Online Workshop Digital

Online-Workshop | Pop-Up Factory: "Pop up your life"

Pop up Factory - Pop up your life Online Workshop Digital

Online-Workshop | Pop-Up Factory: "Pop up your life"

Pop up Factory - Pop up your life Online Workshop Digital

Online-Workshop | Pop-Up Factory: "Pop up your life"

Download
0
Info
Kino der Kunst

Bloodless Brandhorst

Anna McCarthy & Paulina Nolte, Bloodless Brandhorst, 2020

Im dritten Teil ihrer Filmserie BLOODLESS verwandeln Anna McCarthy und Paulina Nolte das Museum Brandhorst in einen Schauplatz mysteriöser Ereignisse. Am 28. Oktober wird der Film im Rahmen von Kino der Kunst erstmals gezeigt und ist anschließend online auf dieser Seite verfügbar. Das Museum Brandhorst ist darüber hinaus als Kooperationspartner des Filmfestivals Gastgeberin für eine Reihe von Künstler:innengesprächen, die in der Pinakothek der Moderne stattfinden und als Live-Stream auf unserem YouTube-Kanal verfügbar sind.

Über den Film

Leicht entrückt und in Bonbonfarben getaucht reagieren die Künstlerinnen Anna McCarthy und Paulina Nolte in ihrer vegetarischen Fernsehserie BLOODLESS mit düsteren und trocken erzählten Geschichten auf Zerrbilder der Gegenwart. Mit zwei wohlhabenden überspannten Damen, die sich um die Seele einer Luxushandtasche sorgen, wird in der ersten Folge BLOODLESS BOUTIQUE von 2019 der Ton für die Fortsetzungen gesetzt. Nach BLOODLESS POOL im Sommer 2020 folgt nun die dritte Episode. BLOODLESS BRANDHORST wurde vom Museum Brandhorst in Auftrag gegeben und wird anlässlich von Kino der Kunst uraufgeführt: “Welcome to reality, Madame.”

Mehr anzeigen

Bloodless Boutique

Zwei leicht versnobte Damen und eine Handtasche in einer skurril-surrealen Ladenszene. Der erste Teil von Anna McCarthys und Paulina Noltes BLOODLESS-Reihe entstand 2019 und dreht sich um die empfindsame Seele einer ledernen Luxushandtasche.

Bloodless Pool

Im Sommer 2020 entstand die zweite Episode von Anna McCarthys und Paulina Noltes vegetarischer Fernsehserie. BLOODLESS POOL taucht ein in aquamarinblaue Abgründe.

Anna McCarthy & Paulina Nolte

Anna McCarthy (*1981 in München) ist bekannt für ihren interdisziplinären, kollaborativen, aber auch oft humorvollen und poetischen sowie politischen Ansatz. Die Künstlerin studierte an der Kingston University of Art & Design London, der Akademie der bildenden Künste München und an der Glasgow School of Art. Ihre Arbeiten wurden international ausgestellt, unter anderem im Haus der Kunst, D-0 ARK Underground, Kunstverein Göttingen, Kunstbau im Lenbachhaus und der Schaustelle Pinakothek der Moderne. 2019/2020  lehrte sie im Rahmen einer Vertretungsprofessur an der Akademie der bildenden Künste München und erhielt 2020 das USA Stipendium des Bayerischen Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kunst. McCarthy spielt außerdem in den Bands WHAT ARE PEOPLE FOR?, SALEWSKI und MOON NOT WAR.

 

Paulina Nolte (*1992 in München) studierte an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste München bei Professor Klaus vom Bruch, Professor Julian Rosefeldt, Kerstin Brätsch und Anne Imhof. Sie schloss ihr Studium 2018 als Meisterschülerin bei Klaus vom Bruch ab. Ihr Werk besteht aus Zeichnungen, Keramikobjekten, Texten und Musik und mündet oft in performative Arbeiten. Ihre letzte Performance und die Veröffentlichung ihrer Publikation „Desert of Unrest” fand im Garten des Lenbachhauses mit Ruine München im Juli 2020 statt. Für „Arts of the Working Class“ fertigte sie dieses Jahr Illustrationen zur Ausgabe der Venedig Biennale 2023 an.

 

Anna McCarthy und Paulina Nolte spielen gemeinsam in der Band WHAT ARE PEOPLE FOR?.

Mehr anzeigen

Im Museum Brandhorst: Videoarbeiten von Lucy McKenzie

Lucy McKenzie The Girl Who Followed Marple, 2014

Über Kino der Kunst

Halil Altindere, Kino der Kunst 2020

Als einzigartige Kombination aus Filmfestival und Kunstausstellung untersucht KINO DER KUNST den Zusammenhang zwischen Bildender Kunst und Kino; der programmatische Schwerpunkt liegt darin, wie Filmkünstler mit Fiktion und Erzählung umgehen.

 

In diesem Jahr widmet sich der internationale Wettbewerb dem Thema „Verbotene Schönheit“ und der Frage, warum der Begriff der Schönheit in der Gegenwartskunst so verpönt ist. Präsentiert werden filmische Arbeiten, in denen formale Innovationen und eine hochästhetische Bildsprache angewendet werden, ohne die ernsten Themen unserer Zeit aus den Augen zu verlieren. Die Filme werden in den Kinos der HFF, den City Kinos und der Theatiner Filmkunst gezeigt.

 

Das Museum Brandhorst ist 2020 zum dritten Mal Gastgeber der Künstler:innengespräche, die im Rahmen von KINO DER KUNST stattfinden. Die Gespräche werden im Ernst von Siemens-Auditorium der Pinakothek der Moderne geführt und sind als Live-Stream auf dem YouTube-Kanal des Museums Brandhorst verfügbar.

Tickets und Programm

In Kooperation mit